October 20, 2015 … reaching new heights

In case you get excited, the “new height” refers to a hill from which I have not previously done much.

Mt Albert

A view of downtown Wellington from a hilltop in its Southern suburbs

Few people outside Wellington realize that we too, have a suburb called Mt Albert. It has been closed for a while as a new water reservoir is being constructed, but they have now restored access to the walking tracks which form part of the city’s Southern Walkway.  The views from the top are delightful.

Lyall Bay

Lyall Bay looking happy in the sunshine

Down below, in Lyall Bay, the surf was rolling in and the sky was blue. A large city council tractor rumbled past and I stepped aside so it could trim the grass on either side of the track.

Bee

Honey bee (Apis mellifera) at work in the Cape Weed

This bought me close to a patch of Cape Weed and I heard a lot of buzzing. To my great delight, there were honey bees buzzing about. The feral honey bee has been close to extinction in New Zealand with the advent of the Varroa mite, and Colony Collapse Disorder.  I have been reading anecdotes that suggest they are making a slow come-back.

Flying bee

Bee in flight

This was not just one or two bees, but dozens of them, sufficient to set up that lovely humming that used to speak of summer. What a joy.

That’s enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Bees, Landscapes, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to October 20, 2015 … reaching new heights

  1. Yes I have climbed Mt Albert when walking from Oriental Bay to Is Bay. What lens/camera did you use for those nice bee photos?

  2. nzphotog says:

    Love the bee shots!

Leave a Reply

