October 16, 2015 … a wider view

Definitely not one of my better days.

I decided to visit Courtenay Place in Wellington with a wide angle lens (9-18 mm zoom)

Courtenay Pl

That building at the rear dates from the 40s or 50s but had a new facade added in the 80s

Since this is a micro four thirds camera, that’s equivalent to 18-36 mm on a full frame camera. With the techno-babble out of the way, I tried this because I liked some images I saw using low viewpoint and  wide angle.

Reading

When I moved back to Wellington in 1980, the site of the Reading Cinema complex was occupied by various old buildings including the Racol Wire factory. It was a subsidiary of Philips for whom I worked at the time. No trace of the wire factory remains.

There are some interesting buildings on Courtenay Place and definitely some interesting characters. I have found it’s the place you are most likely to be accosted by random strangers trying to sell something.

St James

The grand old lady of Wellington’s theatres, the St James has been nicely restored and completely outshines the Opera House

There are a few new buildings but mostly, old buildings with refurbished facades. The St James Theatre is definitely an original, much loved by the city.

Verandah

Under the verandah of the St James

My last shot is a bit of opportunism. I had the camera on the tripod set at its lowest height. I had it connected by wi-fi to my iPhone so that the viewfinder was displayed on-screen. I had put the tripod on a seat while I hitched my trousers up and noticed on the iPhone the view I was accidentally catching, so pressed the button.

That’s all for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

