October 15, 2015 … up the coast

A fine morning in the Hutt Valley suggested a trip further afield.

Periwinkle

The lesser periwinkle at the roadside.

It’s a while since I traversed the Paekakariki Hill Road, so that’s the way I went. I was just a little past Pauatahanui when I saw the bright blue of the Lesser Periwinkle (Vinca minor).

Landscape

Landscape – Battle Hill Farm Park

Just up the road from there is the Battle Hill Farm Park. Much of it is currently closed since it is a working farm and it is currently lambing season.  Despite that, I could get far enough in to enjoy the landscape.

Paekakariki

The Kapiti Coast and Kapiti Island from the Paekakariki Hill lookout

Then it was up the narrow winding road to the lookout above Paekakariki. As I said, it was fine in the Hutt Valley, but as I went North the cloud cover increased. Generally, clear skies and warm sunshine engender a sense of well-being. Some photographers prefer cloudy skies as offering more interesting images. Personally, I lean towards the blue sky and warmth. Despite the increasing cloud, the sea was almost flat calm and Kapiti Island was looking nice despite the mist wreathing its summit. Paekakariki township is at the foot of this hill, and Paraparaumu is at the top of the picture.  It is a matter of great distress to me that the bush on he hills is used by some as a rubbish dump. A washing machine tipped over the steep edge to land in the trees below is simple laziness and contempt for our beautiful country.

Kapiti

Kapiti Island was the lair of the famous Maori chief Te Rauparaha who with his warriors paddled across to the mainland to attack whoever he was fighting at the time.

Down at the coast line there is a better indication of just how calm the normally unruly Tasman Sea was.  Instead of the normal tumbling surf, gentle waves lapped at the foot of the sea wall.

OK, I am up to date again, so that will do for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, flowers, Kapiti Coast, Kapiti Island, Landscapes, Paekakariki. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 15, 2015 … up the coast

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Paekakariki Hill Rd is a fantastically scenic route, inland as well as overlooking the coast. The different light qualities at early morning and late afternoon make it worth visiting at different times of the day. Just watch for idiot motorcyclists racing through there at breakneck speeds.

Leave a Reply

