October 12, 2015 … from motorcycle thunder to forest birdsong

Hundreds of rumbling motorcycles.

Bikes (!)

A tiny fraction of the many hundreds of bikes ready for the ride to Paraparaumu

I really do mean hundreds of them. Yesterday the Women’s International Motorcycling Association organized it’s annual “Pink Ribbon Ride” in support of breast cancer research. The riders gathered in Petone, row upon row of gleaming machines, mostly big heavy bikes with a goodly sprinkle of the three wheelers as well. There were very few of the lighter commuter style bikes. Though it was organized by WIMA, the majority of the riders seemed to be the stereotypical hairy-chested grizzled bikers.

Bikes (2)

Nothing conveys the sound of several hundred big bikes

I learned that they were heading South over the Petone overbridge and then up the Ngauranga Gorge and up SH1 to Paraparaumu. I chose a spot on the footpath (US = sidewalk) and waited at the roundabout near the overbridge. Soon a deep rumble announced the arrival of the first riders  who blocked other traffic for safety reasons and then it began. A seeming endless stream of motorbikes, many of them with that deep Harley-Davidson throb, streamed past.

Adam

My friend Adam and his daughter Lauren (in pink) pass through Petone roundabout

I used the burst mode on my camera which was, frankly, silly. I ended up with 536 images of which I have kept very few.  After the first hundred or so, one bike looked much like another, so I knew that I had caught a shot of my friend Adam with his daughter on the pillion only by way of looking for their pink fluorescent jackets when I was processing later.

Stream

Catchpool stream

With that done, Mary and I took a picnic lunch to the Rimutaka Forest Park at Catchpool Valley. I fiddled with the ND filter and slow exposure again to see what I could do with the stream near our lunch spot.

Downstream

A view downstream from the Taonga track

A walk through one of the shorter tracks was just such a delight. The wind in the trees overhead did not drown out the exquisite melodies of the bird life in the bush. The stream meandered through the everlasting greenery of this beautiful park.

Kereru

Yet another kereru … love the colours

On the return leg of our brief bushwalk, yet another wood pigeon sat fearlessly near the path and caught the sun in such a way that its irridescent plumage absolutely glowed.

Enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Birds, Machinery, Rimutaka Forest park. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

