October 11, 2015 … tough start, happy end

Mary and I did a late afternoon drive.

Ragwort

Purple ragwort – a real pest, but undeniably attractive when it grows in great masses at the roadside

At first there was nothing useful. The Okowai Lagoon near Porirua is disgracefully polluted, five years after work to rehabilitate them was reported to have started. I have all but given up on finding birds there. As we walked back up the hill, I snatched a shot of the purple ragwort flower which infests Wellington’s hills at this time of year. I use the word “infests” advisedly since it is an invasive pest of South African origin that displaces the native plants.

Mana

Porirua Harbour entrance near sunset

Up at the Camborne Water tower, there was a nice view towards the late afternoon sun coming down over Mana Island and Whitireia Park.

Melling

Hutt River from under the Melling Bridge

Nothing useful revealed itself as we went through Pauatahanui and I had given up hope by the time we reached Lower Hutt. However, I glimpsed a lovely reflection from the Hutt River as we traversed Block Road. A long exposure aided by a neutral density filter gave me this picture which I thin is the best of my day.

That will do for today.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, flowers, Hutt River, Landscapes, Light, Mana Island, Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 11, 2015 … tough start, happy end

  1. nzphotog says:

    Beautiful reflection in the river and ragwort has never looked so good!

Leave a Reply

