October 9, 2015 … the flowers that bloom in the spring, tra la*

Yesterday was occupied again with gallery minding.

Flowers

Mixed flower bed

It was relatively quiet, and my car was being serviced, so I had to settle for photographs of the flowers around the gallery. On the North West corner, there is a bed  with a cheerful mix of Sparaxis and Bluebells.

Sparaxis

Sparaxis

The Sparaxis are particularly colourful and I like them a lot, though not enough to grow them myself.

Stem

A bluebell stem

However, the bluebells bring distant childhood memories of time before our family migrated to New Zealand in 1954. I remember seeing them in forests in England and Germany, but until recently, I have not seen them in New Zealand. At the risk of upsetting the gardeners at the gallery, I plucked a single stalk and had a closer look with my macro lens.

Bluebell

Very close to the flower

I like getting very close to things with my camera but it seems I still have a lot to learn about managing depth of field.

More tomorrow.

*The Mikado by Gilbert and Sullivan

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Camera club, flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 9, 2015 … the flowers that bloom in the spring, tra la*

  1. nzphotog says:

    The last image is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

