October 2, 2015 … from the gallery to the shore

It is that time of year, again, when our camera club has its annual exhibition.

Exhibition

A segment of the exhibition. Two of mine are in this shot … the butterfly (third from left) and the early morning view of the Tararuas just to the right and below the butterfly.

Our opening on Tuesday evening was a very happy occasion, and I am very proud of the work on display, both the individual images, and the exhibition as a whole. I am pleased to have four of my own images on display.

Panorama

The exhibition as a whole. Click for a closer look

It occurred to me while I was taking a series of record shots in the gallery to wonder if I could do a panorama of the whole room and show every one of the 71 images in its context. I took nine high-resolution 40 megapixel images and then used the photomerge to panorama feature of Photoshop to create the finished image. The original image is huge at almost 1.5 Gigagbytes.  The room is a simple rectangle and this composite includes about 320 degrees, showing everything except the entrance door.  Whether it works or not is for you to decide. I like it.

Ships

ANL Echuca and Tarakena butting into a stiff Northerly at the harbour entrance

Later in the morning the siren song of the sea drew me to Palmer head just as the container ship ANL Echuca was arriving and taking on the pilot. A stiff Northerly was whipping the wake of the pilot vessel Tarakena away to the South.

Waves

Turbulence in Lyall Bay

In Lyall Bay, the same North/South conflict was occurring. I have always liked the way the waves adapt themselves to the curve of the bay giving images of the wave crests seemingly at right angles to each other.

That’s all for today.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Camera club, harbour, Maritime, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 2, 2015 … from the gallery to the shore

  1. You did well with the exhibition photo.

Leave a Reply

