September 30, 2015 … rockpools and waves

School holidays are upon us.

Maggie

Maggie explores the beach looking for sea horses

Maggie and Cooper spent a couple of nights with us, and yesterday we went to the South Coast , and specifically  to Houghton Bay. Mary has hopes of finding a sea-horse to add to her collection of coastal memorabilia and she wanted to enlist the kids in searching the beach and rockpools. Maggie wandered up and down looking.

Cooper

Cooper (in the blue top on the left) explores the pools with his newfound friends

For his part, Cooper got sidetracked and had soon made friends with a punch or random strangers and joined them in a fantasy world around the rock pools.

Surge

The waves beyond the rocks were moderate, but enough to cause the water to surge in and out

For my part, I believe I have a better chance of winning Lotto than finding a sea-horse, so I documented the project in my usual fashion, but like Cooper, I am easily distracted, so I put the ND filter on and watched the water surge in and out of the pools.

Incoming

The tide was coming in, so the small pools we saw to begin with soon became part of something bigger

Waves are endless fascinating, so I spent quite some while looking at the surging sea from different angles. No sea horses were found.

That’s it for today.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Cook Strait, Family, South Coast, Waves, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

