September 29, 2015 … moonset and tulips

When I think of moon photographs, I usually think of moonrise.

Moonset

Moonset over Maungaraki

Yesterday morning while it was still dark, I emerged from my bedroom and saw the “super moon” approaching the Western horizon. Of course the camera was nearby and ready for action. There was cloud, and in the other direction the sky was getting lighter as dawn approached. I don’t bother with shots of moon against a dark sky as there is nothing to distinguish a good moon shot from a million other identical moon shots by other people.  Up on the skyline, lights were starting to appear  as the day began.

Tulips (1)

Tulips at home

My brother-in-law has been with us for a few days and he bought his sister a nice bunch of tulips down at the market on Saturday. Mary suggested I have a look at them before they past their best.

Tulips (2)

Tulips in the botanic gardens

There is a difference between florists’ tulips and those on display in the garden. Or perhaps it’s just the better light outside. These were taken in the Botanic Gardens where we took the grandchildren yesterday.

Poppies

Poppies and pensioners

Spring festival in the botanic gardens was in full swing and there were many vans from retirement villages creeping through the paths normally the exclusive preserve of pedestrians. Some of the occupants enjoyed getting out for a talk with the gardeners. We took the youngsters up the hill to the playground, had a picnic lunch and came home.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Botanic gardens, flowers, Light, Maungaraki, Moon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

