September 28, 2015 … with other eyes

Sometimes the gift of a visitor helps to see a familiar place in new ways.

Scaup

Green with a dash of duck

We took my brother-in-law Paul to Zealandia yesterday. The weather was surprisingly good, and interrupted a span of wet and wind. On the lower dam, a pair of scaup were snoozing amidst the bright green reflections from the surrounding bush.

Tui

Tui checking out how effective its territorial display had been

Birdsong was everywhere, and the tui were especially visible. I am not sure if they are adopting magpie tactics but they were swooping over the visitors to the park as if to deter them from their nest sites. When we were undeterred they perched nearby and gave us the “side-eye”.

Bellbird

Bellbird merges beautifully with the bush

Up in the “discovery area, stitchbird, North Island Robins and bellbird were feeding. I could hear saddlebacks but didn’t get a clear view of them. The robin walked across my foot, so close that I couldn’t focus on it. And then there was a bellbird music fest. Second only to the grey warbler, the bellbird is one of the best songsters in the New Zealand bush. It has a clear liquid chiming note that is a joy to hear.

Kaka

Kaka – the lowland native parrot

The “character” bird of the sanctuary is undoubtedly the kaka. The kaka is a big lowland bush dwelling parrot with a beak that looks capable of amputations. Though there is a great deal of celebration at their reestablishment in the city, they are capable of ring-barking trees so not every gardener is pleased.

Exhibition

My friends from the camera club discuss the placement of images in the early stages of setting up the annual exhibition

Later in the day, I had to deliver my prints to my friends and colleagues who were setting up the annual exhibition of the Hutt Camera Club which will be open daily from 10 am to 4 pm in the Odlin Art gallery, Myrtle St., Lower Hutt from 30 September until October 11. If you are in the area, please drop in. I feel honoured to have four images in the exhibition.

That’s all this time

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Art, Birds, Camera club, Forest, Lower Hutt, Trees, Weather, Wellington, Zealandia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 28, 2015 … with other eyes

  1. nzvideos says:

    Since I, and I assume others, will not be able to get to the photo exhibition, please provide us with images of your four submissions.

Leave a Reply

