September 25, 2015 … from drab to dynamite

The usual whining at the start of the day.

Drizzle

Drab drizzle … the port goes on.

In the city, steady drifting rain caused the view from Oriental Bay to the port to drift in and out of focus. The freighter ANL Elanora was being assisted into her berth by the Tapuhi and Tiaki, and frankly, that was pretty much all got for most of the day.

Lathe

Attempting to fill the photographic void while giving the lathe its periodic spin.

As the day wore on and desperation started to mount, I decided to go down to my garage and give my Dad’s old Myford lathe its occasional spin. This is nothing more than making sure it is lubricated. I haven’t used it for a year or two now.

Fragment

Rainbow fragment

As I went back up the steps to the house, I saw a rainbow fragment starting to form over near the bottom of the Wainuiomata hill. I tried my best to include the koru but … meh!

Rainbow

Boom! What a perfect rainbow.

And then the sun snuck under the clouds to the West, just as a light rain shower started. Boom! A full glorious rainbow, and I had the wrong lens. I raced back up to the house and swapped lenses, certain in my heart that it would be gone when I came back. It wasn’t. It made the rest of the day worthwhile.

Something else tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 25, 2015 … from drab to dynamite

  1. dennisw77009 says:

    You’re full rainbow shot is quite wonderful! There was a short lived sci-fi series on US tv named “Under the Dome.” This image, with the lighted mist under the bow, looks a lot like that dome.

  2. nzvideos says:

    Congratulations on capturing the 180 degree rainbow. I have never been able to do that. Marvelous!

Leave a Reply

