September 23, 2015 … play Misty for me*

When a photographer meets a barrier, the only option is to photograph the barrier.

Rain and road

On the Wainuiomata Coast road

Rain, wind and mist have been the constant feature of recent days. Yesterday was particularly misty and though I don’t want a constant diet of it, I like misty scenes. Perhaps the Wainuiomata Coast road might offer some chances of catching the mist.

Kereru

Kereru and the willow

As I drove down towards the forest park, I spotted a native wood pigeon or kereru. This week is the annual census for kereru with people asked to report all sightings to a special website. I stopped to watch this heavyweight systematically mowing a very small willow sapling. If you look closely you can see the fine water droplets on its plumage. There were more of them inside the forest park.

Ford

This ford is dry on about 362 days of the year.

Then I came to another barrier. There is a ford where the road to the carpark crosses the Catchpool Stream. Normally  the stream passes through a culvert under the road, but there has been so much rain recently that the stream had swollen beyond the capacity of the culvert and was running about 30 cm above the concrete ford. A big Toyota Landcruiser from the police search and rescue unit had just crossed it. I contemplated the idea for a millisecond or two,  but the signs said do not attempt to cross when the water is over the road. My car is simply too light to withstand that volume of water so again, I had to photograph the barrier. On several previous occasions I have posted images taken from the middle of the ford, of the upstream reflections in the normally placid stream.

Sheep

Motherly patience

Retracing my tracks brought me past this world-weary ewe with her twin lambs.

Gorse

Gorse and trees

A little further up the road, there was another misty landscape, with bright gorse in the foreground. I like the delicacy of the receding landscape provided by the mist, but I have had my fill of it for now, so please don’t play Misty for a while.

That’s all for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, flowers, Landscapes, Rimutaka Forest park, Rivers, Wainuiomata, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 23, 2015 … play Misty for me*

Leave a Reply

