September 22, 2015 … down to the deep rolling sea*

For the last two days we have experienced gales with gusts around a hundred km/h.

Wave

Solid green water

That always promises some action on the South coast. Though the waves were far from the biggest I have seen out there, they were solid long waves with a period of about 12 seconds. Don’t be fooled by the froth at the surface. The luminous green water speaks of energy imparted by strong winds out to the South.

Turbulence

In the washing machine

At the Western end of Lyall Bay, there was some amazing turbulence happening around those cruel rocks.

Torea

Torea backing into Miramar

Inside the harbour, the tanker Torea which we saw yesterday at Seaview, was being moved from the marine fuel berth on Aotea Quay to the aviation fuel berth at Miramar. She is obviously capable of handling a range of fuels all at once. As the tugs Tapuhi and Tiaki fussed around her, she was swung around so that she could leave the wharf bow first. Like many tankers, Torea has just one lifeboat of the free-fall type mounted on a ramp at the stern. I often wondered what the launch process would be like and found a very shore video here that shows how it happens. You would need to be well strapped in to survive the launch.

 

  • “Blow the wind Southerly”, a traditional song from Northumberland
About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Evans Bay, harbour, Maritime, South Coast, Waves. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 22, 2015 … down to the deep rolling sea*

  1. John Titchener says:

    Another Lifeboat video. Yikes! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9AmvrTeoXU
    I knew there was a reason I never became a seaman…
    JohnT

  2. Tina says:

    Love the Kereru shot. Brilliant colors.

Leave a Reply

