September 18, 2015 … when all you have is a hammer …

… everything looks like a nail.

Mos

A moss, I presume. It is much more translucent up close than it looks when you stand up.

An old joke, I know, but the parallel is there. When I go out armed with a particular lens, I tend to make my shooting match the capability of the lens.  As it happens this particular lens is very versatile, capable of excellent portraiture as well as the extreme close-up which is its real purpose. On this occasion, I had it set for very close shooting, and went back to the are of Pinehaven where I visited a few days ago, this time with a tripod.

Lichen

This lichen is perhaps 3cm across. On the forest floor below it I think that is a liverwort

I have no real narrative to accompany individual images because I have no expertise in the micro-foliage of the forest floor.

Spiky

These spiky little tufts of vegetation are perhaps 5mm in diameter

Each time a moved a metre to the left or right there was something new to see. From a distance it all looked like a soft green baize, but as you get closer the intricacy and the complexity of each plant became visible.

Moss

Moss on a wooden gate post

Even the moss on top of an old fence post presents itself differently in extreme close-up.

This too shall pass.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in flowers, fungi, Silverstream. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September 18, 2015 … when all you have is a hammer …

  1. Cliff says:

    Awesome macro photos. I especially like the lichen. Maybe the first photo suggests the next, etc? Maybe you are over thinking it? The

  2. nzvideos says:

    Looking at that moss “forest”, I had to wonder how many micro animals live in it; I thought I saw a couple. Thanks for the really up close view of New Zealand that most of us ignore.

  3. dennisw77009 says:

    I’m always intrigued when you feel your muse has departed, temporarily to be sure, because it almost always results in interesting images. This was especially true of yesterday’s photos of man made items that, as an engineer, intrigue me just a bit more than natural ones.

  4. Really nice images. Lots of detail. What is the lens?

Leave a Reply

