September 16, 2015 … a thing of shreds and patches*

You wouldn’t like it if I were to sing.

Blue Mountains

Lovely wooded area up in Blue Mountains near Silverstream

But I do regard myself as a wandering teller of stories, with pictures thrown in. On some days, I go where the whim takes me, with no plan or intention in mind. I have said before, that serendipity is not a recipe for great images. Nevertheless, absent any grand plan, I shall take what I can. And so I found myself above Silverstream on a back road in the Blue Mountains area.  The people who live up here enjoy a wonderful mix of bush, birdsong, views and isolation.

Fungus

Purple fungus

The road I was on was barely wider than the car, and I had my window down, so I spotted the various mosses, lichens, liverworts and fungi on the forest floor. At first glance I thought I was looking at a colourful stone, but a careful prod suggested it was a fungus of some sort. Friends have tentatively identified it as purple pouch fungus (Cortinarius porphyroideus). It mixed well with the moss surrounding it.

Moss

Unidentified moss

The moss seemed worth a closer look. Though I had my macro lens with me, I didn’t have the tripod. The light was low so a slow shutter speed was required. The macro lens has an extremely shallow depth of field so getting a sharp hand-held shot was a real lottery. I have no idea which particular moss this is, but it’s amazing how the dense green from a metre away gets to be translucent from closer in.

Library

Study in the city library

In the afternoon, I went to the city where I found myself in the civic square. It always impresses me to see lots of young people working in the city library, assuming they are not tweeting or on Facebook.

Office

Outdoor office … Welling City Administration building in the background

Not everyone likes the discipline of the library, and if it is at least reasonably fine there are always people perched in unlikely places around the square with their laptops in action.  It’s not my idea of a comfortable work environment.

That’s all for now.

  • “The Mikado” by Gilbert and Sullivan
About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, flowers, fungi, Staglands. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

