September 11, 2015 … never give up

Most of us have seen the cartoon.

Last light

Last light across the valley … from our front lawn

You know the one where a frog is in the beak of a bird, but has its hands around the throat of the bird so it can’t be swallowed. Well, I had pretty much given up yesterday and was about to let go. My free time had been consumed with duties related to the estate of my late friend Gary. I knew I was not going to get home in time to do daylight images, so I had used my iPhone to make a couple of shots of various mundane objects in case of total disaster. I got home to my long-suffering wife and  at the end of a long drab day, we were enjoying a companionable drink together. “Look!” she said. I leapt from my chair and scrambled to grab a real camera and dashed outside to capture the most spectacular burst of colour over the Eastern hills.

Light

This was a short-lived phenomenon but while it lasted I enjoyed it

It deserved a wider look, so after debating about a lens change, just zoomed out as far as possible and then cropped for a panorama.

Farewell

In the North, a partial rainbow says farewell to the day

A frantic knocking on the window from inside the house drew my attention to a touch of drama in the North so I swung the camera that way. For photographers wondering what is the most valuable accessory, it is an observant spouse.

rainbow

Intense rainbow fragment

In the wider view the drama was overwhelmed so  zoom back in to the astoundingly bright rainbow. A few minutes later, the whole thing shut down as if someone had flipped a switch. And then night descended.

A note of remembrance and sympathy to those who lost loved ones in the terrorist attacks on this day fourteen years ago.

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Light, night, Normandale. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 11, 2015 … never give up

  1. nzphotog says:

    I am so glad you got the sunset, I was doing dinner looking out the window at the colour in the sky thinking I wished I lived on a hill. Awesome spotting from the assistant too! Well done!

  2. Yes keep your assistant on. maybe it was the universe’s way of remembering the terrorist attack

Leave a Reply

