September 10, 2015 … Southern suburbia

I can’t remember why I went there.

Lyall Bay

Be it ever so humble, there’s no place like home* … I think that’s Lyall Bay School in the foreground

I was probably just following my nose, as I often do when looking for images, but whatever the reason, I found myself on Duncan Terrace which is on the Western side of Kilbirnie, just below the town belt. This narrow winding street offers some interesting views down onto central Kilbirnie and Rongotai as well as South across Lyall Bay. I suspect that Kilbirnie is undergoing a slow process of “gentrification”, but historically, it has been an unashamedly working class suburb, home to everyday people. The houses are mostly modest, well-kept and close together.  I confess that the boundaries between the suburbs of Rongotai, Lyall Bay and Kilbirnie are a mystery to me.

Swells

Swells in straight lines

The higher streets in the suburb tend to enjoy great views, but you can understand that if you can see the South, then the South can see you, and they are interesting places to be in the worst of Wellington’s Southerlies. Yesterday, though the wind was not too wild, it was nevertheless generating a good onshore swell. The lens foreshortens the image, but those waves were ten or twelve seconds apart and that suggests slow heavy waves arriving on Lyall Bay Beach. Oddly, there was just one solitary surfer visible (on the left, between the second and third waves).

Bus barns

The Kilbirnie bus barns need to be rebuilt

Looking back to Kilbirnie itself, a long-term feature on Onepu Rd has been the bus barns. When the first stage was built in 1910, they were of course, tram barns, and to this day there are lengths of tram line inside on either side of many of the inspection pits. They have reached the end of their life, and are deemed earthquake prone. As I understand it they will be demolished, with some attempt to retain some token historical brickwork. At one stage there were plans to redevelop it for housing and retail, but it seems that the present owner still needs it to be a bus depot. For now, at least, it is a vast rust-red eyesore from my viewpoint on the hill.

That’s all for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Kilbirnie, Lyall Bay, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

