September 9, 2015 … further into retirement and busier than ever

I enjoy telling my former colleagues how relaxed my lifestyle is since retirement.

Taboo

Taboo in Hikoikoi reserve

On some days, such as yesterday, there are just too many scheduled activities to fit on one page of the calendar. Nevertheless, with the sense of compulsion to keep the faith until the end of the year, I always attempt to squeeze some shots in. When I do this, the thing that lets me down most is the imagination. I end up in familiar places making ordinary images. At Hikoikoi Reserve, the only thing that seemed worth a try was the pretty little yacht, Taboo. I fear she is rotting at her mooring, and moulded ply construction is very unforgiving of neglect. Her lines are still there, though, and I liked the glittering reflections off the water on the white paint as well as the reflection in the water.

City view

Miramar, Mt Victoria and the Western Hills as seen from Port Rd, Seaview

Nearby, I caught a  slightly misty view towards the city, but the ruffled water did me no favours.

Ceramic

Ceramic water feature

In the evening, our camera club was host to an interclub competition among the six clubs in the region. I regret to say that we came dead last, but enjoyed ourselves in so doing. And when it was all over and the dishes were done, the chairs were stacked, and it was time to go home, I stopped in Buick Street, Petone. At the Jackson street intersection there is an artesian well that taps into the deep aquifer flowing from the upper reaches of the Hutt River through the deep beds of river gravel that form the floor of the Hutt Valley. It is one of two places in the entire region where there is access to water that is totally untreated, with neither chlorine nor fluoride being added. Adjacent to the spigots, there is a large ceramic water feature fie or six metres high. One more shot in the bag.

Maybe today will be quieter.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Art, Camera club, Maritime, night, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

