September 8, 2015 … to the Southern edge

A howling Southerly and white caps on a green harbour told me to go to the South Coast.

Breakwater

From Lyall Parade, looking past the airport breakwater to the jagged rocks of Moa Point and the huge wall of cloud in the South. The wire fence just visible in the foreground is to protect the dunes from people and dogs. Nothing will protect them from nature.

So I did. I missed the spectacular moments at high tide when waves crashed over Lyall Parade, leaving weed and driftwood across the road, together with the inevitable sand.  Despite the sunshine, the blast from the sea was bone-chilling. Great cascades of white spray were launched skyward from the southern wall of the airport runway and Lyall Bay breakwater. Heavy green water surged towards the  shore and far to the South a towering bank of cloud hinted at worse to come.

Tapuae-o-Uenuku

There it is again,Tapuae-o-Uenuku across troubled waters

From Palmer Head, the oft-photographed view to the Kaikoura ranges was shot yet again with a confused and turbulent sea in the foreground.

F-27

A fine old bird undergoing an overhaul – Fokker F27-500 Friendship

A side trip up Tirangi Road caused a double take. It’s been a while since I last saw a Fokker F27 Friendship at the airport. This one, ZK-PAX from the Airworks NZ fleet, seems to be in the midst of a major overhaul or perhaps a  conversion as all the cabin windows were masked. It was a very fine design in its day, but as I understand it, very expensive to operate by comparison with its more recent competitors. It was a pleasure to see one again.

Houghton Bay

Houghton Bay in a Southerly

Back along the coast to Houghton Bay where the water seemed to be coming in even more solidly. It’s a coast I love to visit.

That’s enough for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Aviation, Cook Strait, Island Bay, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 8, 2015 … to the Southern edge

  1. Cliff says:

    The lighthouse like structure which can be seen in the last picture is in fact a holiday home that can be rented out. I’ve stayed in it. It is in Island Bay, so I guess that the photograph is looking across Houghton Bay to Island Bay?

Leave a Reply

