September 5, 2015 … chilly in the South

My location sometimes comes about by way of other obligations.

Tree

I liked the contrast between the tree and Newtown Park Flats

Yesterday, I was in Newtown to visit a bookshop. From there I began my wandering and was going past the Zoo on my way up to Karitane House. As I reached the sharp corner that turns towards the zoo, I noticed an architectural feature on a block of flats. My guess is that this is a perforated steel wall intended to provide shade and privacy while still allowing the passage of air. The tree in the tiny garden at the front provided an interesting contrast between the organic and the mechanical.

Magnolia

Passing glory … blooms on Roy St., Newtown. I think the trees are Magnolia stellata.

Applying the “look behind you” rule, I liked the magnificence of the row of magnolia trees lining Roy St.  As I understand it, magnolias bloom for somewhere between one and four weeks. I suppose that this short-lived glory is not much different to the splendor of the pohutukawa season.

Kilbirnie

Bharat Bhavan and the AB Sports Centre in Kilbirnie

At Karitane House, the view down onto Kilbirnie prompted me to find out about the interesting building on Kemp St. It is Bharat Bhavan, the home of the Wellington Indian Association. It contains a 1,200 seat auditorium and a 300 seat dining/conference centre.  The larger tortoise-like building to the top right is Wellington’s ASB Sports Centre. It contains 12 sprung-floor sports courts and can seat up to 3,000 spectators.

Tapuae-o-Uenuku

Gleaming distant view

From there, I followed the ridges down to Houghton Bay from where I enjoyed the light gleaming on the snow-clad upper part of Tapuae-o-Uenuku, far across Cook Strait, near Kaikoura. I have used images from a similar viewpoint often, but the light deserved another look.

That will do for the day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Architecture, Cook Strait, Kilbirnie, Landscapes, Light, mountains, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September 5, 2015 … chilly in the South

  1. The last and first images are quite stunning.

  2. nzvideos says:

    Darn Margaret, you took the words out of my mouth:) Thanks Brian.

Leave a Reply

