Categories
Horokiwi Landscapes Machinery Maritime Weather Wellington

September 4, 2015 … high wind in high places

I started at sea level.

ANL Elanora
ANL Elanora bound for Nelson

From Port Road, Seaview, there is a view straight down the harbour entrance.  The container ship, ANL Elanora was just passing Barrett’s Reef on its way to Nelson. According to Google Earth the ship is about 12 km from where I stood.

Aquilla
Not pretty, but vivid.

In the marina at Seaview, there were patches of calm water but for the most part, the surface was ruffled and uninteresting. At the stern of the fishing vessel Aquilla, the red buoys were ugly but eye-catching.

Wind farm
Wind farm on Wellington’s West Coast as seen from Horokiwi

From there I followed the narrow winding road up into the wilds of Horokiwi. The roads up there follow the contours of the land, or perhaps the trail of a particularly demented goat, so there are no views of the suburb itself. There are however, spots where there is a view window out to other places.  In this instance the view is across Tawa towards the Mill Creek wind farm.  If I haven’t yet mentioned it, the wind had picked up, or perhaps it was present already at this higher altitude. Either way, it was difficult to stand still against the strong blast of the wind.

Seaview
Seaview Marina as seen from Horokiwi

Another twenty or thirty ridiculous tight turns later there was a view in the other direction, back towards the Seaview Marina from where I had just come. If I look closely at the big version of this file, I can see the red buoys at the stern of the Aquilla (it is above and slightly to the left of the last building on Port Road).

See you tomorrow.

 

 

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

Leave a comment