September 4, 2015 … high wind in high places

I started at sea level.

ANL Elanora

ANL Elanora bound for Nelson

From Port Road, Seaview, there is a view straight down the harbour entrance.  The container ship, ANL Elanora was just passing Barrett’s Reef on its way to Nelson. According to Google Earth the ship is about 12 km from where I stood.

Aquilla

Not pretty, but vivid.

In the marina at Seaview, there were patches of calm water but for the most part, the surface was ruffled and uninteresting. At the stern of the fishing vessel Aquilla, the red buoys were ugly but eye-catching.

Wind farm

Wind farm on Wellington’s West Coast as seen from Horokiwi

From there I followed the narrow winding road up into the wilds of Horokiwi. The roads up there follow the contours of the land, or perhaps the trail of a particularly demented goat, so there are no views of the suburb itself. There are however, spots where there is a view window out to other places.  In this instance the view is across Tawa towards the Mill Creek wind farm.  If I haven’t yet mentioned it, the wind had picked up, or perhaps it was present already at this higher altitude. Either way, it was difficult to stand still against the strong blast of the wind.

Seaview

Seaview Marina as seen from Horokiwi

Another twenty or thirty ridiculous tight turns later there was a view in the other direction, back towards the Seaview Marina from where I had just come. If I look closely at the big version of this file, I can see the red buoys at the stern of the Aquilla (it is above and slightly to the left of the last building on Port Road).

See you tomorrow.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Horokiwi, Landscapes, Machinery, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

