August 29, 2015 … birds and more birds

My fellow club member and expert bird photographer, Toya invited me to accompany her and a friend to Zealandia yesterday.

Tui

Inversion by the tui

I don’t need a lot of coaxing to go to Zealandia, and the opportunity to see how Toya achieves her amazing results were too much. Almost immediately there were birds around us. A tui was undaunted by our proximity and performed some interesting gymnastics in pursuit of food. The picture is not upside down.

Shags

Shag apartments – one up, one down

 

Down by the lake, the pied shags are on the nest. We saw no chicks so perhaps the latest eggs are yet to hatch.

Takahe

Critically endangered takahe

A little way up the path from there, were the Takahe. There are apparently fewer than 300 left in existence. It was something of a disaster then, that a group of deer shooters who were contracted to cull the pukeko population on Auckland’s Motutapu Island managed to shoot four of the takahe by mistake. The colouring is similar, but the comparison is an anorexic fashion model with a sumo wrestler.

Robin

North Island Robin

In the bush, we were accompanied for a while by this chirpy little North Island Robin. They enjoy the insects stirred up when people pass.

It was an enjoyable experience but I shall probably never develop Toya’s patience.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Zealandia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 29, 2015 … birds and more birds

  1. nzphotog says:

    Awesome set of images – not sure I am an expert in anything, but I am happy to share what knowledge I do have.

Leave a Reply

