August 27, 2015 … a change in the weather

A beautiful day with no commitments is always tempting.

Stilts

Pied stilts browsing at the Pauatahanui ponds

Waikanae popped into my head, so I went that way. Of course, this takes me past Pauatahanui so I had to pause for the beauty of the ponds, reasonably calm and unruffled. Perhaps it is my imagination, but it seems that the pied-stilts have established territorial dominance there.

Piles

Waikanae Estuary

I was about to do some landscapes on the inlet itself when my phone rang. I talked with a friend from camera club for two or three minutes and when I hung up, the wind had come up and spoiled the perfect surface. My friend who sometimes reads this should not feel guilty. I would not have got into position in time anyway. Instead I carried on to the lagoons at Waikanae. Sadly they were ruffled too, and there were no birds of interest. I did like the rows of piles which I presume are there to stabilise the sand where the river curves to the estuary. Kapiti Island is in the background.

Clouds

Unusual cloud inbound

On the way home, I had just come off the Haywards Hill when the cloud layers coming in from the South hit me. They seemed to be advancing in perfectly straight horizontal lines from horizon to horizon. I diverted up the hill to Kelson to get the widest possible unobstructed view.

I’ll call it quits for today

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Waikanae, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 27, 2015 … a change in the weather

  1. brent says:

    s#@t happens

Leave a Reply

