August 22, 2015 … sunrise, sunset, swiftly flow the days*

Another day almost done and another late-in-the-day panic-stricken search for images.

Heron

White-faced heron in calm waters

The afternoon was kind to me, as was the Pauatahanui inlet. At Motukaraka point, a white-faced heron was nicely silhouetted against a patch of still water. It’s not a monochrome image, but now and then nature presents itself in black and white. Close inspection reveals the green weed on the foreshore.

Seal

New Zealand Fur Seal pup dozing on the boat ramp

At the launching ramp of the Paremata Yacht club, there was a seal pup sleeping in the late sun, ignoring the ladies fishing a few metres along the dock. I moved with as much stealth as possible and put my camera within a metre of its nose. It opened a huge liquid dark eye, and went back to sleep.

Paremata

Paremata at Sunset

By now the sun was getting low in the sky, and commuter traffic across the bridges was building up, though the noise was muted by distance.

Panorama

Ivey Bay – a seven shot panoramic stitch

A hundred metres or so up the road, is Ivey Bay beach. The surface at low tide is a little treacherous with lots of vegetable matter in piles concealing soft muddy spots, but the panorama possibilities seemed worth the risk.

Another sunset.

*”Fiddler on the Roof” by Sheldon Harrick and Jerry Bock

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Animals, Birds, Landscapes, Light, Paremata, Sunset, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

