August 19, 2015 … lost plot

My attempt at thematic photography came a little unstuck yesterday.

Star life

Star Life comes to collect logs

In Oriental Bay, an empty log carrier , the Star Life, was being guided towards its berth by the two red tugs, with Tiaki hanging off the stern as a brake. There was a streak of sunlight on the water and it seemed like it was following the lighted path.

Oriental Bay

Oriental Bay is pretty in almost any weather

At the Eastern end of the bay there was a nice view of the buildings catching some stray light too.  And that was really all I caught while I was in the city.

Catchpool

Catchpool Stream slowed down

In the afternoon, I went to the Rimutaka Forest Park hoping to do some slow exposures of running water. The Catchpool Stream was running fairly high.

Kereru

A very handsome wood pigeon

As I went back to the car, I had a close encounter with a wood pigeon or kereru in a kowhai tree. I stopped still and let it get comfortable again, then inched towards it as silently as I could. I got to about two metres before it started to get really twitchy and if I had taken another step, it would have flown. I took my shot and backed away, and it settled down again.

Spring

Spring is here, no doubt about it

On the road back towards Wainuiomata I saw an unmistakable sign of change. You people in the Northern hemisphere are hereby noticed that your summer is over, and that winter is coming. We want our sunshine back please.

My friend died in the very small hours of this morning, and I shall pay tribute to him later.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Animals, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Rimutaka Forest park, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to August 19, 2015 … lost plot

  1. So sorry to hear about your friend.

  2. nzphotog says:

    Sad news about your friend 😦

Leave a Reply

