August 18, 2015 … on familiar trails

One day I must calculate how often I have written about visits to Pauatahanui.

Stilts

Pied stilts arriving to browse in the shallow waters of the pond.

Yesterday, my friend was discharged from hospital, but due to a miscommunication, I turned up a few hours early to move him on to his new accommodation. Never mind, it was a breathtakingly beautiful winter morning, and I knew the tide would be near full so Pauatahanui just begged to be the subject of the day. At the ponds on Gray’s Road, there were pied stilts, masked lapwings, and a variety of ducks. It was all delightful.

Still

From Ration Point looking towards Motukaraka across a perfect surface

At ration point, the view across the water was as still as I had hoped. Not a ripple anywhere, and just sufficient cloud to rescue me from an empty blue sky.

Panorama

Panorama from Pauatahanui to Whitby

Looking back the other way, I decided to construct a panorama. It was a mistake to use the wide angle lens. It took a lot of work and the application of some corrections to stitch the three images together. Five images from a longer lens would have been a much easier proposition with far less distortion to deal with.  Still the result will do for now. A few minutes after I packed the camera away, a breeze came up, and the lovely mirrored surface gave way to a bland ruffled expanse. Great timing. Then it was back to the hospital for the transfer.

That’s it for today.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 18, 2015 … on familiar trails

  1. Annie says:

    The serenity never fails to please me. Birds are indeed a welcome sight bringing memories of Sunday excursions many years ago when we lived in Oriental Bay. Thank you for sharing so many beautiful images.

Leave a Reply

