August 17, 2015 … persistence or stupidity

The single purposeful theme is still the goal.

Pauatahanui

The wetland and wildlife reserve at Pauatahanui

Pauatahanui was the chosen locality yesterday, but the weather was unkind and the birds uncooperative. I decided to try a shot that might express the overall character of the area, Across the salt water grasses are the ponds where so many of my favourite birds browse, On the left, the drab green structure is the bird hide.

yachts

Yacht race

I abandoned Pauatahanui and tried Plimmerton instead. Nothing much happening at first sight, but I liked those clouds behind the yachts.

Mana

Mana Island from Plimmerton

The yachts then drew my eye to Mana Island and again the clouds added to the scene, as did the striations in the rocks on the foreshore at Plimmerton.

Ivey Bay

Ivey Bay, near Paremata

From there I went home via the Paremata-Haywards Road (SH58). Gleaming reflections in Ivey Bay seemed interesting. As an exercise in single themed purposeful photography it was a failure, but that’s how the cookie crumbled yesterday.

More tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Mana Island, Maritime, Paremata, Plimmerton, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

