August 16, 2015 … loitering with intent

Yesterday, I formed the intent to commit a considered act of photography.

River mist

The start of a flow of river mist heading down the valley

A beautiful misty start to the morning gave me a theme for the day, and I set out to celebrate the beauty of the grey. It is no secret that I rarely do monochrome. If nature presents me with colour, who am I to bleach it from the image? On the other hand, when nature offers shades of grey, how can I refuse?

Matiu/Somes

Matiu/Somes Island and the Eastern Hills

As is often the case when there is mist, there was also calm. In the harbour, the sea was almost completely still, though there was sufficient air movement to allow a few yachts to ghost about. From Petone beach, Matiu Somes Island was looking interesting and mysterious.

Wharf

Petone wharf snares the only ray of sunshine

From the Western end of the beach, a stray shaft of sunlight broke through and gilded Petone Wharf. The light was fleeting and I had the wrong lens mounted to back out to get the whole structure, and by the time I swapped, the light had gone.

Stena Provence

Keeping the home fires burning, Stena Provence delivers oil products

Over at the Point Howard oil terminal, the tanker Stena Provence offered a splash of bold colour that emphasised the nearly uniform grey of its surroundings.

Stream

Korokoro Stream

And then my favourite of the day was found where the Korokoro stream flows into the harbour. Before the big rainstorm earlier in the year the stream took a more circuitous route to the sea. Now it takes the most direct path and this seems to have smoothed the flow. It made a nice mirror for that grey sky.  On the whole I enjoyed staying with the theme for the day.

More tomorrow

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in harbour, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, Maritime, Petone, Reflections, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 16, 2015 … loitering with intent

  1. Your loitering was most beneficial. All beautiful.

Leave a Reply

