August 15, 2015 … day after day

I am determined that I shall take some planned shots today.

School

Hogwarts school trip? Either way, they were an impressive group of young people.

Check back tomorrow to see if I followed through. Meanwhile yesterday’s images are as random as ever. I was in Frank Kitts park when a school group walked by. I am convinced they were from overseas. They were quiet, orderly, polite, and took obvious pride in their appearance. Clean shoes, ties done up properly, no untucked shirts. I am more than a little of the belief that they were from Hogwarts. I think I even saw two members of the Weasley family in the group.

Locks

Pledges of eternal devotion

The bridge over the lagoon entrance has fallen victim to  engraved padlocks. Most of them seem to be pledges of eternal love, but I am told that some use them to memorialize a loved one who has died.*  I am not sure if it is electrolysis, but where the lock contacts the bridge it seems to start rust.

Harbour

From Holborn above Stokes Valley. For orientation, the grey tower block in the centre foreground is the old Nurses’ Home at Hutt Hospital’

My wandering concluded with an unsuccessful search for a clear view of the Southern Wall of the snow-capped Tararuas. I was up on the ridge above Stokes Valley and got just tiny fragments of the view I wanted. Looking n the other direction was more rewarding.  Beneath Mt Victoria, the Straitsman and the Aratere crossed over o their way to and from Picton.

Now for some predetermined photographs.

  • the italicised sentences have been changed to acknowledge varying significance attached to the padlocks. 
About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Children, Landscapes, Maritime, Stokes Valley, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to August 15, 2015 … day after day

  1. ordinarygood says:

    I think there have been some good views of the snow-capped Tararuas from high points in Titahi Bay – maybe from the top of Gloaming Hill or Whitireia Park The photographer was not specific about location. Mt Misery near Khandallah/Malvina Major Home has a high elevation but may be built up with the houses perched up there. Travelling up to the Wind Farm Recreation area at Makara could afford you some interesting views to add your collection
    (not necessarily of the snowy Tararuas of course).

    • Thanks for those suggestions. I had a specific angle in mind, and i suspect that it cannot be achieved in reality because there is always a visual obstacle in the way. Perhaps the top floor of the Avalon tower might have delivered it, or the Defense HQ tower block at Trentham. There was a particular light, sharp luminous white snow against a sullen dark grey sky, but alas, i couldn’t find the right standpoint.

      • Liam says:

        Sounds to me like there is a lot of predetermination going on in your photos that you are not giving yourself credit for. It also seems like you are conflating lack of current success in image capture with lack of an aim. But what would I know – when I played at photog Ilford and ASA400 and pushing film all had meaning 🙂

      • ordinarygood says:

        That would have been frustrating then. Keep on seeking….

  2. Liam says:

    Day after day, alone on the hill
    The man with the foolish grin is keeping perfectly still
    (Paul McCartney, John Lennon)

    • I wrestled with the thought process that prompted the quote.
      I am not sure i fully understand it even now, but I see the sun going down, and the eyes in my head see the earth spinning round

  3. David says:

    I suspect you misunderstand the function of at least some of those padlocks. They’re usually left as a reminder of someone who has committed suicide, rather than as a romantic engraving (although some may use if for that purpose). Certainly, the two spots in Brisbane where they’re particularly prevalent are, sadly, popular with those looking to end their life. Looking at the photo I would say the pink lock is definitely a memorial to someone who has died. In this context, I think there’s a chance some reading this may be upset by the description of the locks as being romantically engraved and/or clichéd

    • Perhaps you are right, though most of the locks had two names and little kitsch hearts. I shall amend the edition though I am not sure whether cached versions may persist

Leave a Reply

