August 14, 2015 … here and there

I am still locked into happenstance.

Unit

One of the Korean-built electric commuter trains accelerates out of Porirua heading North

I keep telling myself that I need to do purposeful planned photo shoots, but somehow, driving around and looking for things is still my norm. Probably this is a consequence of my commitment to a photograph every day. Thinking ahead to tomorrow, and designing a shoot ahead of time requires more skill, and perhaps more resources than I have. For now, at least, serendipity rules. My first shot is taken in Porirua City by the stream between the shops and the railway line.

Locomotive

Asbestos-free locomotive at Paremata

A little further North at Paremata, another train crossed my path. This time it was a long freight train hauled by a pair of the big double-ended DL class locomotives. These were built in China, and despite explicit contractual specifications to the contrary, when they were delivered, it was discovered that the locomotive cabs and engine hoods contained asbestos. The contract was enforced and technicians from China were sent to New Zealand to remedy the fault. As you can see from the green stickers on the cab and on the side rails below the hood, this one has had the asbestos removed. New Zealand crews would not handle the locomotives until the changes were made.

Succulent

This cluster of flowers is about 30 cm in height and each flower is perhaps 2 cm in diameter

My neighbour has a huge succulent growing in a tub beside the house. It is taller than I am and it is a very heavy plant. Despite the near flat calm, the long conical flower stems were waving in the breeze. I wanted to do focus stacking  but because the plant was moving between shots, I first had to align the four images before I could blend them.

leaves

Backlit succulent leaves

I had a look at the leaves, and this is a single shot. When I took the shot I had no idea that the little hairs on the edge of the leaves were backlit, but it produced a strange effect. Click to enlarge and you will see it.

That’s all for now,

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, flowers, Paremata, Railway. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

