August 12, 2015 … night walking madness

I enjoy being a member of the Hutt Camera Club.

Bucket fountain

Cuba Mall’s well known bucket fountain. As each bucket fills, the shape causes the centre of gravity to move and the bucket tips its contents to the buckets below. It is a chaotic, random and messy process but is much loved in Wellington.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not everything we do is successful, but everything we do is done in good company and a spirit of fun. Last evening we had scheduled our annual “winter walkabout”. Given the time of year and the name of the season we should not have been surprised at how cold it was, though it was dry, at least.  A dozen of us turned out in central Wellington, despite the miserable conditions. Our route took us up Cuba st, along Vivian Street and back down Taranaki Street to the pub where we concluded our activities.  The streets were quiet as you might expect on a midweek winter night, and if nothing else it meant that we inconvenienced fewer passers-by with our tripods etc.

Logan Brown

Classy restaurant with traffic

A feature in Wellington, as in many other cities is the number of grand old buildings that have been repurposed. On the corner of Cuba and Vivian, the former National Bank of New Zealand is now a popular and very upmarket restaurant called Logan Brown. Nobody went in or out while I was making a slow exposure on the corner.

Hikitia

Blue light on Hikitia

Back on Taranaki Street Wharf, the floating crane Hikitia was lit with floodlights that varied between red and blue light. This image is in the blue phase. From there we adjourned to the pub for refreshments and comparison of our various captures.

Something else tomorrow.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Camera club, night, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

