August 10, 2015 … chilled to the bone

Those daffodils in yesterday’s edition lied.

Grey

Another winter morning, but I’m always a sucker for those receding shades of grey.

 

Winter is still with us. The mercury says the temperature is 6 or 7 degrees C and by the time you add a Southerly at 30 to 40 km/h it feels more like zero. It was teeth-chattering weather. When I first looked out in the morning, it seemed like just another damp grey day.

Cold

The sky was blue, but the clouds were moving fast. The long exposure makes the water look more placid than it really was. Nothing in the picture tells you how cold it was.

I visited my friend in hospital, and then went looking for opportunities to make pictures. Evans Bay was not especially promising, but with a bit of work perhaps something could be achieved in Shelly Bay. I set up the tripod and the ND filter and the remote trigger App on my phone and got out of the car. I immediately wished I hadn’t. It was horrible. Nevertheless I stayed out for four attempts, each of about 10 to 15 seconds  and then got back inside as quickly as possible.

Lady Liz

Police launch at anchor. No sign of life aboard

Perhaps it would be less miserable around the corner of Pt. Halswell. The police launch Lady Elizabeth IV was at anchor there and it seemed calm. Alas it was no warmer.

Seaview

Distant sunshine

Across the harbour, the tank farm at Seaview was gleaming in a narrow strip of sunshine so I made the shot and gave up for the day.

It is still cold.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Evans Bay, harbour, Landscapes, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

