August 7, 2015 … the full range

If you don’t like our climate, wait twenty minutes.

River

Hutt River from Normandale Rd

Heading out to the hospital this morning, I liked the gentle fading provided by the mist as I came down the hill on my way to the hospital.

Moonshine

The Hutt River near the Moonshine bridge … the view to the South is still grey.

My friend’s wife had been by his side overnight and needed to go home for various things so I took her out to Upper Hutt. On the way back into town, the mist and rain seemed to get heavier and the pale greys and receding planes became more interesting.

Mist

Maea and Straitsman in the mist

It was still fairly murky at Ngauranga and two ships in the harbour looked interesting. On the right is the small LPG tanker Maea which has been anchored there for a few days. and on the right, Straitsman is heading towards her berth in the city.

Eastern hills

Eastern hills still in cloud, but the improvement is rapid

After an interesting Vietnamese lunch, I headed back out to collect my friend’s wife and take her back to the hospital. The weather was clearing from the North and despite heavy clouds on the ranges, the sky behind me was blue.

Naenae

Naenae from Kelson

This warranted a detour up into the heights of Kelson from where I found a new viewpoint looking down into the valley and across to Naenae.

Harbour

From the top of Kelson across Lower Hutt to the harbour entrance

Near the summit of the main road through Kelson the view South was entirely different from the greyness of the morning.

That’s enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, harbour, Kelson, Landscapes, Normandale, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 7, 2015 … the full range

  1. Lawrence Herzog says:

    Great captures of the changing conditions. I find it invigorating when the weather is in motion right before our eyes and one frame is different from the next.

  2. Adam Rosner says:

    I like the Moonshine bridge shot. Captures the essence of a grey winter day with a pleasing composition. Bravo for getting out and taking photos under these conditions. I’ve hardly touched my cameras since returning from my European holiday, an omission I need to rectify.

Leave a Reply

