August 5, 2015 … from a different viewpoint

Another grey day yesterday.

Wadestown

From Wadestown, above the Ngaio Gorge looking North towards the Hutt Valley

In the small window available to me yesterday I decided that there might be some interesting views  from the East-facing slopes of Wadestown. By the time I actually got there, the low clouds that caught my eye earlier in the day had moved on.  Nevertheless, the mood was interesting.

Suburbia

Northern suburbs from Wadestown

One of the nice things about going to different places in the city is the pleasure of finding new view-windows. A view across Wadestown and Ngaio to Khandallah appealed to me.

Harbour

Inner Harbour looking across the ferry terminal to the Westpac stadium

Swinging around to the South from the same area, there was a line-up of ships in the port. At the rear, the Jeppesen Maersk, and then the Arahura being prepared for sale after her retirement last week. In front of her is the LPG tanker, Maea, and the coastal cement carrier, Golden Bay. Then there is the fisheries research vessel Tangaroa and near the cement silos, a small fishing vessel the identity of which I didn’t discover.

shellfish

Hazardous harvesting

Back in the Hutt Valley, I went to Hikoikoi and was distressed to see people gathering shellfish from a notoriously polluted mudflat. High concentrations of lead and heavy metals are known to be present in this area, and I would hate to think of this being consumed.

In the immortal words of a certain rabbit, that’s all folks.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

