August 3, 2015 … taking a wider view

My new wide angle lens was begging to be taken out for a walk.

Terrace

The Terrace from the James Cook hotel

Wellington city offers a lot of opportunity for wide angle views, so I began where I parked, on The Terrace.

Corridor

Corridor from Lambton Quay to the James Cook Hotel elevators

From beside the James Cook hotel, there is a walkway through the car park that connects to an elevator down to Lambton Quay. One of my degrees was conducted in the James Cook before Massey University had a Wellington Campus so there was a touch of nostalgia in finding myself in that somewhat dated corridor.

Lambton Quay

Lambton Quay looking North from Cable Car lane

Out on Lambton Quay, looking North , I found the place almost deserted. Admittedly it was 4pm on a cold bleak Sunday afternoon.

Protoplasm

Swivelling art work … Protoplasm by Phil Price

A feature of Wellington’s public art is the number of “kinetic sculptures” … things that move with, and celebrate the city’s infamous wind. This particular piece looks like a set of luminous green M&Ms, each pivoted on the one below. The whole things writhes and swings in anything above a light breeze.

That’s all for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to August 3, 2015 … taking a wider view

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    All that’s missing from Lambton Quay is the tumbleweeds! Guessing this is a wide-angle for the Fuji?

  2. It’s tiny at 57mm long by 55 mm in diameter

Leave a Reply

