August 2, 2015 … drifting drizzle

Grey sheets of drifting rain were the order of the day.

Kaitoke

Kaitoke Regional Park … I may have been the only person in there apart from the ranger

Towards the end of the day, I decided to head North on SH2 towards the Rimutaka summit in the hope of some atmospheric swirling clouds. Alas, the further I went, the more the sky became a flat featureless grey with no distinct clouds, and no windows into the landscape.  I turned off at the Kaitoke regional park where I saw a glimpse of the landscape through the mist and rain.

Wet

Wet car , wet landscape

That was a frustrating trip, not least because I had left my camera’s storm jacket at home, so I turned around an came back to Normandale. Clutching at straws, when I had parked in the garage, I saw something in the raindrops clinging to the recently waxed roof of the car. This was taken inside, looking back out the door across the Hutt Valley.

Seashore

Some of Mary’s collection of seashore items

Late in the evening, I decided to add to the catch of the day with another focus-stacking exercises. I used the same heavy glass jar that I used a few days ago. This time I shot from directly overhead (not though the glass). The process of merging the sharp bits really makes Photoshop work for its living and it takes something like twenty minutes to produce the final blend.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Kaitoke, Landscapes, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

