August 1, 2015 … flying feathers

My friend is in hospital, so after a visit, I came home vie Evans Bay.

Harbour

Across the harbour to the Hutt Valley and the clouds beyond

Of course, the obvious subject across the harbour is the Tararua range away in the North. The weather and light were not great for landscapes, but I did my best. On this occasion even the mountains were in hiding.

Seed

Sneaky close view of the passerines eating the seed I had laid out

At home in the afternoon, Mary drew to my attention the many finches among the sparrows chasing the food she had scattered. I dressed my camera in its storm jacket and engaged the remote control. Some bird seed was scattered on the lawn, and pointed the camera on that area. Then from inside the house, unseen from outside, I sat in the warmth of the lounge, and used the nice big screen of my iPad to watch the action live through the camera.

beak

Sharp beak

There was plenty of bird seed for all, but the greenfinch is not much into sharing, and if a sparrow should come between the bird and its preferred morsel, a vicious attack followed. Suddenly the pretty little finch was a fearsome warrior.

That’s it for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

