July 30, 2015 … more in hope than expectation

That drive and hope thing is still happening.

Aratere

Aratere taking the Northern passage between Matiu/Somes and Petone

As much as I tell myself that intentionality is the key to photographic progress, I continue to depend on serendipitous encounters for most of my images. On my way back from Eastbourne, yesterday, I spotted the ferry Aratere doing a slow anti-clockwise circuit around Matiu/Somes Island, heading towards the Petone foreshore. She’s not a conventionally handsome vessel, especially after all the surgery to lengthen her, but I don’t buy into all the political scaremongering that suggest she is a maritime lemon. She is now the longest of the Interisland Line’s fleet and I believe the one that moves the most tonnage.

Upper Hutt

Upper Hutt from Pinehaven

In the upper valley, at the top of Pinehaven, I found a view out towards Upper Hutt and beyond.

Prison

Rimutaka Prison

Down below the hill on which I stood, is the Rimutaka prison. It’s a medium security prison, and I like it about New Zealand that there are no watchtowers with armed guards. There is razor wire, and lots of video surveillance for sure. I don’t suppose for an instant it is a pleasant place to be locked up in, but I am glad that as a society we generally don’t mistreat our prisoners.

Still life

Still life with focus stacking

My last shot of the day is another focus-stacking experiment. Mary has a heavy square glass vase in which she drops the things she finds at the foreshore. I saw the vase on the diagonal and decided to explore the possibilities. It can speak for itself.

Something else tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Landscapes, Maritime, Upper Hutt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

