July 28, 2015 … close to home

We had some tiny stowaways when we came back from Christchurch.

Pou

Pou Tangaroa or just a random art work at Hikoikoi reserve

Both Mary and I had some form of viral affliction. In my case, perhaps it was just the common cold, but Mary who is the most resilient person I know, was laid low. Thus I stayed close to home yesterday. The Hikoikoi reserve at the Hutt River estuary is a good fall-back place if the water is still.  At various places around New Zealand, there are “Pou whenua“, roughly equivalent to a totem pole, these carved wooden poles celebrate the relationship between the tangata whenua (the local people of the land) and the area in which the pou stands. The maritime or coastal equivalent is a pou tangaroa, though there seem to be far fewer of them. I am not absolutely sure that this is indeed a pou tangaroa, or merely a random carving but it’s Maori Language week here in New Zealand so I thought it worth the little exploration.

Maree K

Maree K has made little visible progress since she was rescued from the breakwater and put back on the slip.

From the breakwater, I saw an old friend, the Maree K. You may recall that I have featured her on many previous occasions. She spent over a year washed up on the breakwater, and if you look at the diagonal stain on her transom, you can see where she sat in the water.

Stormwater

Keeping watch on the stormwater

Near the Petone wharf, there is a set of piles that stabilise a stormwater drain leading into the sea. A gull on the left and a shag on the right are an oddly matched pair of sentinels.

Perch

Hierarchical perching rights

At the gates of the Petone Wharf, a cluster of red-billed gulls were squabbling about perch ranking order, and each new arrival bumped some previous occupant from the perch.

That’s all for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Birds, Maritime, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 28, 2015 … close to home

  1. Poor Maree K. I, too have about 4 photos of her. Like the seagull one.

Leave a Reply

