July 26, 2015 … South and North

I am just back from a flying visit to Christchurch.

Alps

A seemingly endless line of poles head West to the Southern Alps

My brother-in-law’s 70th birthday was the occasion, so we went down yesterday morning and returned this afternoon. I use the term Christchurch somewhat loosely since we stayed in Rolleston, 23km South West of the rental car place at the airport. The main event was in the evening, so Mary and I explored the locality a little and ate lunch on a roadside in West Melton. It was a perfect Canterbury day, albeit a little chillier than the sunshine would suggest.

Harp

Harping on. I liked the movement in the harpist’s left hand, and the blur in the string just plucked

The celebration in the evening celebrated my brother-in-law’s love of, and involvement in, Celtic music. There were two different musical groups performing through the evening and I spent a little time watching the various fiddlers, pipers and harpists perform.

Alex

Young Alex performing Irish folk dance for her grandfather

My brother-in-law and his wife are blessed with two grandchildren, the elder of whom follows her parents into the whole Celtic music thing. She performed a splendid set of Irish dances for her grandfather. If there is some blur in the image it’s because I refrained from using flash, and had to use a slow exposure for some high-speed action. I must remember that getting down low is all very well, but getting up with dignity afterwards is becoming harder.

A good time was had by all.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Christchurch, Family, Landscapes, mountains. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 26, 2015 … South and North

Leave a Reply

