July 23, 2015 … on the side roads

I have a new toy.

farm building

Old farm buildings are a delight. I doubt that this would get a permit today.

A wide-angle lens offers different opportunities, so I acquired one for the Olympus. Yesterday I decided to spend the day experimenting with it. There are many ways in which such a lens might be used. Yesterday’s exercise was primarily with landscapes and buildings at various ranges.  The side roads off the Haywards Hill Road were where I chose to go.

Judgeford

A stream near the Judgeford golf course.

Oddly, a wide-angle lens is often just as useful in portrait mode as in landscape, ging access to extreme foreground and far distance.

Panorama

Panorama in the Judgeford Valley

The side roads I mentioned, present interesting viewpoints of familiar landscapes from new points of view. This is a panorama of seven stitched images using the wide-angle to give vertical depth.

St Joseph's

Historic St Joseph’s Church at Pauatahanui

The other advantage of these side roads is the discoveries that are made. Yesterday, for example I was shocked to discover, after living in the region for 35 years, that there is not just  one, but two historic churches at Pauatahanui. St Alban’s Anglican church  in the village is pretty well known since it is visible from most parts of the inlet. St Joseph’s Catholic Church is almost totally invisible to motorists passing by at 100 km/h, and it was not until I came back down Bradey Road that I finally saw this building that dates back to 1878. It is number 205 on the Historic Places Trust register.

Squash

Squash

My final image was of a different type entirely. Mary has recently found a source of small edible squash, and they are such colourful character-filled vegetables, I had to try  something using the new lens.

That’s enough for the day.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in flowers, Haywards Hill, Landscapes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 23, 2015 … on the side roads

  1. The lens works well…or is it the guy using it 🙂

Leave a Reply

