July 22, 2015 … is the worst behind us?

At this time of year, sunrise comes a minute earlier each day tha the day before.

Seaview

The Seaview Oil terminal wharf at Point Howard. A winter view.

 

Nevertheless, there is probably a lot of winter yet to be endured before the warmth returns.  Yesterday was a gloomy day, weatherwise. Point Howard was the start point for my late-in-the-day run, and I had to pass through a police drink/drive cordon to get there. It was a surprise to be breath tested at 3:30 pm, but as the nice young policewoman told me, they still catch people, even at that early hour of the day.

Pipes.

Oil and chemicals run beside the harbour. It seems risky.

There was no tanker at the oil terminal, but I was interested in the pipelines that carry oil and chemicals from the tankers to the various storage tanks nearby. At least one of the pipes is so corroded that I sincerely hope it is not in use now. I wonder how often, and by who these pipes are inspected. In this seismically active city, these are surely a huge risk to our harbour and marine life.

Jonquils

Take notice you Northern hemisphere people, we want our summer back. Jonquils in the breeze.

Near the Lower Hutt town hall, there are some gardens with a fernery and other features typical of civic gardens in various parts of the world. The eye-catching feature was a clump of bright yellow jonquils, the earliest of our Spring flowers, waving cheerfully at me from their bed at the base of a pine tree. Now there’s a promise of better days to come.

Valley

Even in the rain, the valley looks nice, but I was glad to close the door and get warm.

As the day reached its inevitable conclusion, the winter view across the valley seemed worthy of capture.

Enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, flowers, Industrial, Seasons, Seaview, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 22, 2015 … is the worst behind us?

  1. Katie says:

    Heh. The grass is always greener. I want my winter back!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

