July 21, 2015 … Seeing eye-to-eye

Wandering somewhat aimlessly on the waterfront, I saw a new opportunity.

Wetland

A delightful wetland less than twenty metres from the city traffic.

Behind the old Post Office building on Herd Street, is Waitangi Park. Part of the park is an artificial wetland. It is planted with typical regional wetland reeds and grasses, and is enjoyed by many ducks. It flows under the walkway beside the Chaffers Marina and then … stops. For some reason I had never contemplated the outlet of the wetland previously. It comes up to a retaining wall and trickles over it very slowly. The retaining wall is accessible from the beach in the corner of the Marina and I found that it gave me an unusual opportunity to look into the ducks’ habitat.

Mallard

Mallard is wary of the photographer, but stayed put.

Seeing eye-to-eye with a duck in close proximity was a new experience, and I found that, as long as I moved very slowly, the ducks would tolerate my presence. I could rest the rim of my lens hood on the retaining wall and make images from exactly water level.

Coda

Coda returning to her berth

Back on the footpath, I spotted my friend Neville motoring slowly back to his marina berth in Coda. I have mentioned Coda previously. She was a work boat which Neville has restored beautifully as a small unassuming pleasure boat. She is immaculate in all respects, and it was nice to see it being used.

yachts

Youth yachts in line astern

Occasionally I see a small fleet of yachts. It seems to be part of a youth training scheme, and three of the four were moored neatly together.  The fourth was further back alongside the inflatable tender.

That’s all for now.

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Maritime, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

