July 20, 2015 … heavy green

The storm came and went.

Palmer head

I was determined not to mention “washing machine” … oh whoops!

It was much shorter in duration than we expected, and for the most part it happened in the dark. The wind howled and raved, and probably reached the forecast 120 km/h, but by morning there was sunshine and the wind had died away to a mere stiff breeze. Nevertheless, there was a sufficient swell in the Strait that all interisland ferries were cancelled for most of yesterday. Mary and I decided to visit the South coast to see the waves arriving on the shore. We began at Palmer Head, where the red-black offshore rocks made the sea look like whipped cream with chocolate chips.

Waves

Distant mountains, and my favourite person in the whole world wearing blue is watching the waves

Swinging around to the South West, I made my obligatory shot across the Strait to the Kaikoura ranges.

Green

There is a lot of weight in these waves and I love the green

From there we passed through Lyall Bay where the road was covered with sand, as usual after any good storm. There seemed to be less driftwood than usual, and the dunes seemed to have survived far better than was feared. At the Eastern end Houghton Bay, the swells seemed to be arriving with more force than elsewhere along the coast.

Wild water

The waves were around 2.5 metres and were intimidating from the beach.

I could watch those big green waves for hours, but that was a chilly wind, so after a few more shots we got back in the car and went home for some great soup and in my case, an afternoon siesta.

Who knows what will come tomorrow?

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Landscapes, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 20, 2015 … heavy green

  1. Lydia says:

    Gorgeous photographs of the waves!!!

Leave a Reply

