July 14, 2015 … bright and beautiful*

What a splendid day.

art

The grotesque ceramic dragon does not seem to impress the local wildlife

It wasn’t warm, by any means, but it was less chilly than it has been. The water wasn’t flat calm, but the air was sharp and clear. As usual in such conditions, I headed South to the city. Sitting on a column in the sea wall, was the most grotesque little dragon. This was a fully glazed and fired ceramic piece, and was giving great amusement to many passers-by. Two men engaged in litter collection seriously thought to throw it in their sack, but were persuaded by several calls from the passing pedestrians to leave it in place. A red-billed gull descended to the column to inspect the newcomer.

Tararuas

Tararua vista. They always look more impressive when there is snow

Eighty kilometres to the North, the high peaks of the Tararuas stood sharp and clear against the unblemished sky. This demanded a higher viewpoint, so of course, Mt Victoria was the obvious destination.

Harbour

Inner harbour light

The Northern lookout on Mt Victoria offers some nice unobstructed views. Glittering water in the inner harbour lied about how warm it was, but made a nice picture anyway. Aratere was departing for Picton, leaving the cloud of diesel exhaust lingering in the air as it usually does when her engines first start.

Evans Bay

Evans Bay and the airport

In the South and East, the airport was both visible and audible. The adjacent green suburbs of Miramar and Kilbirnie contrast with the black tarmac of the runway. Evans Bay marina is in the lower right corner, and a solitary yacht on the lower left, harvests that spiteful breeze.

Ships

Aratere departing, Steve Mayree arriving

By now, Aratere is gathering speed as she nears Pt Halswell, and the fishing trawler, Steve Mayree returns to port to discharge its catch.

Wellington

Downtown Wellington

To the West, the high-rise buildings along Willis, Manners, Courtenay imprison thousands of wage slaves, oblivious to the beauty of the day outside. I should modify that by noting the increasing percentage of apartment buildings in the city.

That’s another day done.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Airport, Architecture, Art, Birds, Landscapes, Light, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 14, 2015 … bright and beautiful*

  1. Pamela Rothschild says:

    Wellington looking its best even in winter. Thank you for the lovely photos.

Leave a Reply

