July 6, 2015 … regardless of the weather

A deep depression hangs over Wellington.

Half mast

Rugby fans mourn the defeat of the Hurricanes in Wellington

This has nothing to do with the weather. On Saturday night, our favourite sons, the Hurricanes, were trounced by Otago’s Highlanders in the final of the Super 15 Rugby competition. Our boys were odds on favourites, in front of a home crowd, Somehow the Southerners snatched it away. Congratulations to them. A house on Breaker bay captured the local mood.

Strait

It seems much lighter over there. Tapuae-o-Uenuku catches the sun while a heavy cloud hangs over us. The fishing vessel Daniel leads the Interisland Ferry Kaitaki home to Wellington.

Now that I think of it, the mood carried over into meteorology. Wellington was overcast, but across the Strait, the sun was shining.

Mountain

A sea-level view across the water and the sharp red rocks to the mountain behind Kaikoura

I go my tripod out, got down low and pulled things a little closer. Yes, the sun was shining over there, while in Wellington our hearts were leaden. In the words of the Sufi poets, this too shall pass.

red sky

Red sky at night … hope for a new day

In fact, the blazing sky as seen from our back door last evening promised better things to come.

That’s all for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Kaikoura, Landscapes, Maritime, South Coast. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 6, 2015 … regardless of the weather

  1. gcberger says:

    Haven’t been following recently. How do the Hurricanes match up,against the Blues?

    • Sorry fro the slow reply George. The Blues are at the bottom of the league this year and the Hurricanes were supposed to be at the top. Poor old Blues had a really hard year.

Leave a Reply

