July 4, 2015 … mist opportunities

I have loved images in shades of grey for a long time.

Marina

Evans Bay Marina in the rain

Long ago there was a documentary series on TV about Chinese brush painting, and I remember being enchanted by the rendering in a few strokes of the receding planes in a place near the now famous Three Gorges.  It was not the landscape, but the simplicity that appealed. I rarely catch the simplicity in my photographs but I still get excited by misty conditions. I was in town yesterday for lunch with a friend, and found myself at the SOuth end of Evans Bay. The marina there is less scenic than Chaffers Marina or Seaview Marina, but the mist and rain lent a certain quality to it.

Zephyrometer

The Zephyrometer heels in the wind

Just behind where I stood for the previous shot, the kinetic wind sculpture called “The Zephyrometer” has been reinstalled after major repair job. It was struck by lightning last year and the wand itself was spectacularly shattered. Now back in its rightful place, I am convinced that they have altered its balance, since it gets almost flattened by quite mild gusts. I was pleased with this shot as it was hand held at 1/3 second. The slow exposure was deliberate in order to catch the motion of the wand. The stabilisation in the Olympus is amazing.

Tangaroa

Tangaroa heads into the mist

On my way from there to the city for lunch, I saw the fisheries research vessel Tangaroa setting out on a voyage, and again the mist and rain were playing their part in simplifying the scene.

Grass

Close beauty

When it comes to simplicity, one way to achieve it is to get really close. so my last image today is a of a seed head from a  grass species that I haven’t identified. This is a very fine, very delicate grass and the image is of the top three cm of the stalk.

Who knows what tomorrow, but happy Independence day to my friends in the USA, and a belated wish for my friends in Canada for Canada day on the 1st.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Evans Bay, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

