July 1, 2015 … rosy sunset

I am still in dogged pursuit of those kingfishers.

Spoonbill

The slow and graceful wing beat of the Royal Spoonbill is always a pleasure to watch

I even got one yesterday, but still too far away for a serious image. The Royal Spoonbill, on the other hand flew quite close. The wind-ruffled surface on the inlet spoiled the shot though.

Kaukau

From Horokiwi, a view up to Mt Kaukau with a view over Johnsonville and Broadmeadows

To the heights of Horokiwi next, where there are some rarely seen views of the city and Northern suburbs. It seems the good citizens of Horokiwi don’t really welcome visitors. There is a sign on the roadside just above the quarry that says rather ostentatiously that “your presence has been noted” with a picture of a CCTV camera to make the point.

Sunset

Red sky over Wellington as seen from Maungaraki

I had a commissioned task in the evening, and there was a nice sunset on the way home. Of course between the dithering over whether to stop, the driving to the preferred vantage point and the set up, the values all degrade significantly.

Skyline

Skyline

From the foot of the water tower at the top of Maungaraki, I liked the silhouetted treeline up in the Belmont Regional Park.

That’s all today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Maungaraki, Pauatahanui, Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 1, 2015 … rosy sunset

  1. FYI July the first is Canada Day.
    As usual enjoying your pictures very much. Thanks.

  2. John Titchener says:

    You’ve done it again, Brian!! Once again, you have included a photo of a place where I once lived – in this case, Broadmeadows, where I lived for 22 years. Why do I feel as though you are stalking me?!!!! But since you do insist on taking these photos, could you please send me a hi-res copy of this one? Thank you! JT

Leave a Reply

