June 28, 2015 … on a good day, it can’t be beat

Wellingtonians everywhere say it.

Hikoikoi

The Western arm of the Hutt River estuary at Hikoikoi. The Waione Street Bridge has its usual quota of fishermen

“You can’t beat Wellington on a good day.” It’s a defiant catch cry that tacitly acknowledges that we have more than our fair share of wind and rain, but says the good days make up for it all and we wouldn’t swap it for anything. Yesterday was a very good day. Yesterday was a magical day. Yesterday was perfect. And to cap it off, the Australian rugby team, the Brumbies discovered they couldn’t beat Wellington on a good day either. If you have followed this blog for any time at all, you know that when the weather is perfect, I head for the water. Hikoikoi was a great place to start.

Yacht

This pretty little boat has been moored at Hikoikoi for a month or two now. No sign of its mast and rigging though, and I hope it gets restored to its full glory before the rot sets in

For four days now I have been going on about the photographic value of stillness. Wind is the enemy of stillness but yesterday it was absent.

Perch

I think George regards himself as the master of this vessel. Recently it lurched to the right, presumably by the force of the wind.

I peered cautiously around the end of the Northernmost boat shed and to my enormous satisfaction, George was in residence on his favourite boat, despite its recent lurch to the right.

odd couple

The odd couple .. but I suspect that the affection is a one-way street

When he first took up residence here, he was almost invariably accompanied by a white-faced heron, and I came to think of them as “the odd couple”. I have no idea if it’s the same white-faced heron, but one tried to join the white heron as I watched. George was having none of it and chased the smaller bird away.

George

Thank you George for the beautiful display

Then for reasons known only to himself, George launched into flight and flew low and slow  in a tight circle, landing back exactly where he launched from. He passed within a few metres of where I stood on the narrow little jetty.

Rowallan

Rowallan sets out to earn a living while everyone else has fun

In the city, the inner harbour precinct was filled with couples and families, and the odd lone photographer strolling about.  On the water, despite the apparent stillness, there seemed to be just sufficient wind to ghost the yachts along, as the fishing trawler, Rowallan set out about her business.

Seal

New Zealand fur seal pup

To add to everybody’s pleasure in the morning, a New Zealand fur seal pup was basking on the rocks near the rowing club at the lagoon.

Midwinter

A perfect mid winter weekend

It’s a long time since we had such a  perfect day, but opportunities like this have to be seized when they occur.  I regard it as a good day if the number of images I decide to keep exceeds 20. Yesterday I retained 98. I really must get some more storage disk space.

It was a good day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Animals, Birds, harbour, Landscapes, Petone, Reflections, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 28, 2015 … on a good day, it can’t be beat

  1. Ellen says:

    George showing off. Nice picture!
    That yacht might be a Finn Class.

Leave a Reply

