June 24, 2015 … getting bloomin’ close

More rain yesterday had an influence on my choices.

Begonia

Begonia clean and simple

I decided to take my new macro lens for a walk and went to the Begonia House in Wellington’s splendid Botanic Gardens. I should note that yesterday’s exercise came nowhere near the capabilities of this lens, but the flowers on display there are situated in particular places, and it is forbidden to touch them. Since I needed to use my tripod, I simply could not get close enough to test the lens to the fullest. My first shot is, appropriately, a simple begonia.

bromeliad (1)

A bromeliad

More spectacular, are the various bromeliads  blooming in the warmth of the structure.

bromeliad (2)

Another bromeliad

There seemed to be many different bromeliads in bloom and I was surprised that, with few exceptions there were no insects or pests to be seen.

Orchid

Orchid or an alien

I think my next image is an orchid, but on the other hand, are those eyes peering at the camera? If so, what is this creature?

Water lily

Water lily

There is an ornamental pool at one end of the Begonia hose which presumably helps maintain humidity. It also provides a home for the carp swimming in its green murk, as well a place for the water lilies. Sadly just one water-lily was in flower, and even that was pointing the wrong way. I extended my tripod to its limits to get the best possible view.

Fountain

Fountain in the rose garden

A cup of coffee in the very nice cafe attached to the begonia house set me up to face the cold Southerly drizzle outside. On my way back to the car, the fountain at the centre of the Lady Norwood Rose Gardens  was adding even more water to the already saturated environment.

That’s all for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Art, Botanic gardens, flowers, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 24, 2015 … getting bloomin’ close

  1. nzvideos says:

    Spectacular floral images! Bravo. Thanks for the Botanic gardens visit.

Leave a Reply

